Nicholas, Airhart and Rivers win awards in FBISD baseball

By on August 2, 2021 0

Dulles wide receiver Parker Airhart was voted District 20-6A MVP and Travis first baseman Davis Rivers received 20-6A Newcomer of the Year after 2021 seasons. productive.

Ridge Point added an All-State Honor to the roster, with pitcher Hunter Nichols making the Texas Sports Writers Association second team.

Nichols, a right-handed reliever, posted a 0.24 ERA, 3-1 record and four saves in 28 1/3 innings during an outstanding junior season. He struck out 48 batters while walking 18 and allowing 13 hits to help the Panthers to a 20-10 record and a playoff appearance.

Dulles missed the playoffs by one game in a close four-team race, tied with George Ranch and Austin at 6-8, one game behind Clements, fourth. Airhart helped keep the Vikings in the game, batting .395 with two homers, eight doubles, three triples, 24 RBIs, 13 runs and 15 walks, also striking out 12 runs with two earned runs in 11 2/3 sleeves.

Rivers helped Travis win the district crown, as the Tigers finished 12-1 in a 26-6-1 season. They were the only 20-6A team to advance, sweeping Katy Taylor ahead of a three-game playoff loss to Jersey Village. In the sophomore year, Rivers hit 0.432 with three homers, 20 runs, 24 RBIs and 27 walks.

Travis’ Rick Grimm was voted Coach of the Year, with the Tigers adding four first-team selections across all districts from designated hitter Je’Isaac Alamo (0.324, 20 points, six doubles), pitcher Walker Holzhausen (2, 16 ERA, 41 strikeouts, six wins) and outfielder Nick Massarini (0.284, two homers, 23 points) and Lathan Buzard (0.396, 25 points, 26 RBIs), who were recently signed to Northwestern State University.

Runner-up Ridge Point added two first-team picks with pitcher Tyler Dasher (0.95 ERA, 39 strikeouts, five wins) and outfielder Kyle Roosa (0.361, 24 points, 12 steals).

Elkins was third in 20-6A, qualifying for the playoffs in a 15-12-1 season. The Knights had three teammates among second baseman Joseph Binder (0.333, two homers, 19 RBIs), pitcher Adam Wade (2.86 ERA, 76 strikeouts, four wins) and third baseman Jaydn Whitsitt. (0.325, four doubles, 14 runs).

Clements was represented in the first team by Drew Beavers, who made the roster as a utility player with 18 RBIs, 14 RBIs and six more hits at home, as well as two wins and two saves on the mound.

Dulles had three first-team caps with pitcher Aman Patel (2.46 ERA, 82 strikeouts, six wins), first baseman Anthony Salinas (0.371, 20 goals, seven doubles) and shortstop Hunter. Mullings, who had two homers and 23 runs in addition to 23 strikeouts in 10 1/3 innings on the mound.

Austin held three first-team spots, with outfielder Ryan Branch (0.416 based, two homers, 11 steals), utility player Tyler Do (nine points, 21 strikeouts, 2.10 ERA) and pitcher Ryan Dugas (2.43 ERA, four wins, 65 strikeouts) making the lead group.


MVP: Parker Airhart, C, Dulles

Newcomer of the year: Davis Rivers, 1B, Travis

Coach of the Year: Rick Grimm, Travis

First team

Je’Isaac Alamo, DH, Travis

Lathan Buzard, OF, Travis

Walker Holzhausen, P, Travis

Nick Massarini, OF, Travis

Tyler Dasher, P, Ridge Point

Kyle Roosa, OF, Ridge Point

Joseph Binder, 2B, Elkins

Adam Wade, P, Elkins

Jaydn Whitsitt, 3B, Elkins

Drew Beavers, UT, Clements

Hunter Mullings, SS, Dulles

Aman Patel, P, Dulles

Anthony Salinas, 1B, Dulles

Ryan, OF, Austin branch

Tyler Do, Utah, Austin

Ryan Dugas, P, Austin

Second team

Mason Muchaw, OF, Travis

Zack Nelson, P, Travis

Luke Campbell, P, Elkins

James Sattler, P, Clements

Will Krenek, C, George Ranch

Ben Lea, P, George Ranch

Diego Vinton, P, George Ranch

Dylan Burnaman, SS, Dulles

Harrison Golden, 3B, Austin

Blake Watts, 2B, Austin

Logan Witt, OF, Austin

Cruz Medina, P, Bush

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.