The heavy route of the Vuelta a España 2022 will start in the Netherlands

By on December 16, 2021 0

“],” filter “: {” nextExceptions “:” img, blockquote, div “,” nextContainsExceptions “:” img, blockquote “}}”>

Access everything we post when you> “,” name “:” in-content-cta “,” type “:” link “}}”> join VeloNews or Outside +.

The 2022 Vuelta a España will kick off with a team time trial in Utrecht, the Netherlands on August 19 and end in Madrid on September 11.

Over three weeks, the 3,281 kilometer course will feature seven climbing stages and nine summit finishes. For sprinters there will be six flat stages.

Read also : La Vuelta a España set to see five new top finals in 2022

“We are finally coming back to Utrecht, Breda and ‘s-Hertogenbosch, without losing any of our enthusiasm. In a special year, with all Grand Tours having official overseas departures, we look forward to what will be an unforgettable official start in an authentic cycling paradise like the Netherlands ”, said Javier Guillén, Director de la Vuelta a España.

dutch departure

After a team time trial in the first stage, the Netherlands will host two more stages before the Vuelta moves to Spain on a day off.

The 2022 edition of the Vuelta will only be the fourth time in the history of the race that the start will be in a country other than Spain.

Utrecht was supposed to host the first stage of the Vuelta 2020, however, due to the pandemic the route and dates have been changed.

The Dutch city is one of the few to see the start of the three big tours – the Giro d’Italia in 2010 and the Tour de France in 2015.

Stages 2 and 3 will start from ‘s-Hertogenbosch, then from Breda, before a transfer to Spain.

Final podium of the Vuelta a España 2021 (from left to right): Enric Mas, Primoz Roglic and Jack Haig. (Photo: Tim de Waele / Getty Images)

Basque arrival, then ascent

Once in Spain, in Euskadi, which is in the Basque Country, the route will cross Álava and Guipuzkoa, then the high peaks of Cantabria, Leon and Asturias.

2022 will mark the first time in a decade that the Vuelta will cross the three Basque provinces.

Stage 8 of 154.5 km will climb the Colláu Fancuaya, and stage 9 will climb the steep slope of Les Praeres with its 25% ramps.

After a day of rest, the route heads southeast for a 31.1 km individual time trial on stage 10, before rolling to Andalusia for more climbing.

Read also : Euskaltel-Euskadi reveals changes to brand colors in New Jersey

2022 will also mark the first time that La Vuelta will cross the eight Andalusian provinces.

Stage 12 covers 195.5 km and ends with a 20 km climb through Peñas Blancas.

After the third day of rest, during the last week, the Vuelta a España goes to Extremadura, for two new arrivals at the top.

The day after a relatively calm route from Ronda to Montilla, stage 15 climbs Hoya de la Mora (altitude 2,510 m), to cap off a day with more than 4,000 m of elevation gain over 148 km.

Stage 17 ends at Tentudia Monastery at the top of a Category 2 climb, the highest point in the Badajoz region.

The next day, a 191.7 km stage starts from Trujillo and arrives in Piornal, another new arrival city for the Spanish tour.

Stage 20 ends in de Navacerrada, giving the hopes of the general classification a final change to shake up the general classification. It is the same city of arrival that saw Fabio Aru take the lead ahead of Tom Dumoulin.

Ceratitzit challenge by La Vuelta 22

Annemiek van Vleuten, Marlen Reusser and Elisa Chabbey on the Vuelta podium
Marlen Reusser, Annemiek van Vleuten and Elisa Chabbey on the Ceratitzit 2021 podium. (Photo: Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno / Getty Images)

The Ceratitzit Challenge by La Vuelta, from September 7 to 11, will add a stage for its eighth edition, bringing the total number of racing days to five.

“In 2015, we presented a pioneering race in our country, with the hope of making it an international benchmark. It’s a fun and exciting race. One only needs to look at the extremely high participation rate in 2021 to understand its importance in the women’s WorldTour calendar. We have to take up the challenge demanded by the riders, and do it by making it the most difficult course to date, ”said Guillén.

Ceratitzit Challenge by La Vuelta has yet to announce route details.

Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) won the general classification in the last edition, in 2021, which was contested over four days.

2022 Stages of the Vuelta a España

Stage 1: Utrecht – Utrecht, 23.3 km (team time trial)
Stage 2: Bolduque – Utrecht, 175.1 km
Stage 3: Breda – Breda, 193.2 km

Stage 4: Vitoria-Gasteiz – Laguardia, 153.5 km
Stage 5: Irun – Bilbao, 187 km
Stage 6: Bilbao – San Miguel de Aguayo, 180 km
Stage 7: Camargo – Cistierna, 190.1 km
Stage 8: Pola de Laviana – Collau Fancuaya, 154.5 km
Stage 9: Villaviciosa – Les Praeres, Nava, 175.5 km

Stage 10: Elche – Alicante, 31.1 km (individual time trial)
Stage 11: Alhama de Murcia – Cabode Gata, 193 km
Stage 12: Salobrena – Penas Blancas, Estepona, 195.5 km
Stage 13: Ronda – Montilla, 171km
Stage 14: Montoro – Sierra de la Pandera, 160.3 km
Stage 15: Martos – Sierra Nevada, 148.1 km

Stage 16: Sanlucar de Barrameda – Tomares, 188.9 km
Stage 17: Aracena – Tentudia Monastery, 160km
Stage 18: Trujillo – Piornal summit, 191.7 km
Stage 19: Talavera de la Reina – Talavera de la Reina, 132.7 km
Stage 20: Moralzarzal – Navacerrada pass, 175.5 km
Stage 21: Las Rozas – Madrid, 100.5 km

The last winners of the Vuelta a España

2021: Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma)
2020: Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma)
2019: Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma)
2018: Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)
2017: Chris Froome (Sky team)
2016: Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team)
2015: Fabio Aru (Astana)
2014: Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo)
2013: Chris Horner (RadioShack – Nissan)
2012: Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank – Tinkoff Bank)